Brush Farm Academy > International Programs

Department of Justice is now the Department of Communities and Justice.  Find out more >


Commissioner's Scholarship

Description of Scholarship

The Commissioner's Brush Farm International Scholarship has been established since 2009. Its purpose is to promote CSNSW linkages with its counterparts in Asia and the Pacific region. In partnership with the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT), the Brush Farm Corrective Services Academy offered four (4) scholarships to senior correctional staff from within the region in 2015.

Successful candidates will be given an opportunity to participate in the Australian Correctional Leadership Program (ACLP) which is a prestigious training program for executives from across Australia and New Zealand as well as visits to the correctional facilities of NSW. In the past five years,the scholarship was awarded to applicants who have achieved distinction in correctional management and/or correctional research in their own country.

Aims of Scholarship

The Scholarship provides an opportunity for participants to:

  • Promote mutual understanding of corrections between Australia and their home countries;
  • Enhance leadership capabilities in Corrections;
  • Build a professional network with a diverse group of participants from Australia, New Zealand and other countries; and
  • Engage in a collaborative and comparative analysis of the issues across different jurisdictions.


Scholarship Eligibility

Applicants wishing to apply for the Commissioner’s Brush Farm International Scholarship must be current employees within a correctional agency in Asia or the Pacific region. They must prepare a written application explaining how they meet the selection criteria. Their application must also include a statement duly signed by Chief Executive / Agency Head that the applicant will be available to travel to Australia and undertake the program from 9 to 19 October 2015.

Successful candidates will be selected by Brush Farm Corrective Services Academy against the following criteria:

a good command of English language, both orally and in writing; effective communication skills; holding an executive level position in the corrections industry with significant leadership responsibilities (for example, managing a gaol, regional office or a business unit); capacity to influence strategic policy within their own organisation; demonstrated commitment to their own professional development; and ability to travel to Australia and undertake the program in its entirety.

Once all written applications are received, a selection panel will short list these applications. Short listed applicants will be interviewed (by phone) and successful candidates will then be advised of the outcome. All other applicants will be notified by email from the Manager, International Programs.


Please refer to the below application form and information package. For further enquiries, please contact Manager, International Programs, on (+61)436665061.

Roll of Honour

2014 Scholarship recipients

  • Mr Titus Ling Chieh Kong; Consultant, Organisation Development, Public Service Division, Singapore (currently on secondment, substantive position is Director Strategic Planning Division, Prisons Department)
  • Mr Dato Haji Abdul Aziz bin Abdul Razak; Director of Bentong Prison, Malaysia
  • Mr Patrick Sale; Deputy Commissioner, Operations, Solomon Islands                
  • Mr David Suagu; Training Manager, Corrective Services Training College, Papua New Guinea

2013 Scholarship recipients

  • Mr Awang Aliakar Haji Ludin, Superintendent of Prison, Brunei Prison Department
  • Mr Michael Mosiri, Assistant Commissioner (Personnel Finance and Administration), Papua New Guinea Correctional Services
  • Mr Dennis Rocamora, Director of Intelligence/Jail Senior Superintendent SG26, Bureau of Jail and Penology, Philippines
  • Mr Abdul Karim S/O Shahul Hameed, Deputy Director, Rehabilitation and Reintegration Division, Singapore Prison Service

2012 Scholarship recipients

  • Mr Li Ya Xue, Professor and Director Community-based Correction Office, China's Central Institute of Correctional Police, China
  • Dr Ester Pepito, Assistant Regional Director for Administration, Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, Interior and Local Government, Philippines
  • Mrs Pacharaporn Sarobpas, Director of Social Welfare Division/Director of Counsel and Development, Department of Corrections, Thailand
  • Mr Tissa Jayasinghe, Superintendent of Prisons, Sri Lanka Prison Department

2011 Scholarship recipients

  • Mr Vincent Chew, Deputy Commander, Cluster A/ Superintendent (Prisons), Singapore Prison Service
  • Mr Mao Sophearom, Deputy Director, Chief of the Extraordinary Chamber of the Court Cambodia (Genocide Trials), General Department of Prisons, Cambodia
  • Ms Amelia V. Talento, Regional Director, Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, Interior and Local Government, Philippines
  • Mr Marktas Forau, Acting Deputy Commissioner Operation, Correctional Service Solomon Islands

2010 Scholarship recipient

  • Ms Pornpitr Norapoompipat, Deputy Director General, Directorate-General of Corrections, Thailand

2009 Scholarship recipients

  • Mr Ambeg Paramarta, Director of Social Treatment, Directorate General of Corrections, Indonesia
  • Dr Zhai Zhongdong, Professor of Criminal Law / Managing Editor of China Prison Journal at Central Institute of Correctional Police, China